Can’t we just all get along?

Spending the last 20 years in education has given me some pretty good insight into the mindset of those involved in conflict, especially since I spent so many of those years with middle school students. In all fairness, I really don’t blame the students for their poor responses in conflict, nor do I give them full credit for their wise decisions.  Much of what we as educators see acted out in these situations is merely a reflection of their parents, which becomes very apparent when one next encounters the parent(s) of those students.

As a Dean of Students during the last 7 years, I spent a lot of time working with students in conflict (and sometimes teachers and parents, too).  One of the most important things I learned, it’s that there is always more than one perspective to consider.   Equally as important is that most conflict can be resolved with communication.

Just to clear to any members of my family who may be reading this- please know that you are not the topic of this blog. However; if the shoe fits….well, you know.

We dealt with some conflict at school today.  When I say “we” I really don’t mean me.  I only found out about it after the fact. While the details would be interesting to share, I think the most important part of the story is that it has been resolved.  I hope that we have taught our guys how to handle themselves appropriately in these situations or at least how to be humble with an apology.

Parenting is hard work!

On a lighter note, the gorilla glue held the frame together!  Hurray!  I still have a lot to do on that project, including waiting on the cork roll.  In the meantime, I’ll be chalk painting and waxing some simple items in practice for a few bigger pieces I plan to redo.

Until tomorrow!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t we just all get along?

  1. overholt8 says:

    Hey a little hint when I use past wax (my favorite to use) I attach a soft cloth to my sander and use that to buff it out nice. I thought I was strong enough to do it all by hand… Nope I’m not.
    Are you making your own chalk paint or buying pre made paint?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.