It’s a New Year!  It’s time to get a plan(ner). 

I know what you’re thinking.

“She’s one of …those…people – the New Year’s Resolution Makers.

Ugh…

We hate those people.

I mean, really…

What is she thinking?

Does she really believe that turning the page of a calendar and making some overly ambitious statements will completely alter the course of her future?

Seriously?”

Wow.  And I thought I was critical!

To be fair, I am one who embraces the concept of making all areas of one’s life better at any given time – not just in January.  I am also one who enjoys making lists.  More importantly, in my opinion, I am one who enjoys crossing things off my lists.

Since I started working in August, I have set aside all of the things I really enjoy – painting, crafting, cooking, designing, reading, baking, writing, decorating – you get the idea. Not to mention, my house is a wreck, my dogs need a bath, menus, coupons and grocery shopping are sporadic at best, and the basement – well, let’s just say, no one even goes to the basement unless it is a complete necessity!

So you see my dilemma, right?  I need a plan!  

In the digital age in which we live, the most obvious choice for planning and organization is some sort of app that allows one to plug in all one’s laundry list of information in order to receive a well-organized list of things to do, when to do them, and possibly links to articles online that explain how to do them efficiently.  (“Laundry list” – I had completely forgotten about the piles of laundry until I wrote that!). While a digital organizer would make the most sense, I just can’t bring myself to get on board with that idea.  When one of my guys was a toddler and faced with something he didn’t want to do, he would say, “I can’t like it.”  This is exactly how I feel about the digital planner!  I can’t like it!

I want to do the writing. I want to use my own system of coding. I want to choose the priorities. I want to add boxes for check marks, stars and happy faces for the fun activities, andsad faces for the not so fun jobs.  I want to create the schedule. I want it to be pretty. I want it to be colorful. I want it to be user-friendly. I want to cross items off the list! 

And, while I’m sure “there’s and app for that,” I really want to do it the old-fashioned way – on paper! 

With that said, I am resolving today to find the perfect planner!  

Now I just need to find a piece of paper, so I can write it at the top of my list.

 Or maybe I can just put it on the notes app in my phone. Baby steps!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

