Vintage Market Vendor

One of my favorite vintage/antique/upcycled stores, GypsyFaire announced an open vendor market for July. I first heard of it about a month prior to the date.  Finally, my opportunity to showcase some of my projects had arrived!

BUT it was the worst timing ever!  My oldest guy was graduating and family was coming into town followed by a week away at camp with our Jr. High Youth followed by a big 4th of July graduation party for my oldest and his cousin.  There was little to no time to prepare.

So I decided against it.  I was literally heart broken that I’d miss this opportunity. 

Then, I heard a friend of mine had decided to have a tent and was possibly looking for someone with whom to share the space.  “Maybe I have time to put together enough for half a tent.” I said to myself.  I took a huge leap of faith on my part and contacted her.  She was kind enough to take care of the vendor contract and communication and we were ready to go!

EXCEPT I didn’t have a lot ready and only had about a week to prepare.  There was no time for self doubt and worry.  I forged ahead with some plans.  I did a lot of painting – mostly furniture, but a few signs as well.  I reupholstered a few chairs, picked up a few cutting boards from my dad and made some chalkboard coasters.  I even managed to scrape together a few dollars to buy a few things in Michigan to add to the collection. My husband surprised me with a huge sofa table he made from a plan I had found long ago, but never thought we’d actually get to complete.  

By the time the market rolled around I had a decent collection ready. Here are a few photos…

   
    
 

It was a great day!  I learned a lot from the experience, and I’ll share more of that in my next post. 

Happy Labor Day!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Life, Projects, Shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

