I love winter!

I have really great childhood memories of winter – sledding down the snow covered hill past the cow barn, baling off when necessary to avoid the road – Paradise Road. There was ice skating on the tiny pond just behind our house and frightening snow mobile rides with my older brother. There were snowball fights when the cousins were around, lots of well-dressed snowman, snow women and poorly constructed igloos. There were lots of layers and snow pants that were hard to escape for trips to the bathroom and a fire in the fireplace and…

…hot chocolate…

…always hot chocolate.

Then I grew up.  Winter became about messy drives to school and snow days – every teacher loves snow days! Snow fun only happened on snow days and weekends.

Once we had kids, winter became about the kids. I had already had some incredibly painful back problems, so my winter activities became less spontaneous…sometimes, less snow fun.

Photography has become the most consistent activity in which I participate.  I am a complete amateur, but it’s something I enjoy.  During our most recent snowstorm, I spent some time looking at past winter photos (It took a while to shovel the 20+ inches we got !).  Here’s a sampling of a few that I like.

Enjoy!

IMG_8117 IMG_8129 IMG_8138 IMG_8187

IMG_8227 IMG_2004 IMG_2014

IMG_8189

This guy is willing to move mountains (and logs) to help me get the shot!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Life, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I love winter!

  1. Beautiful photos, Lisa!

    Like

Leave a Reply

