Delicious Mistake

I spent the day waiting for a phone call. I expected it early in the day, so I didn’t do anything for hours. Well, I cleaned up the kitchen, took the pups out and did a few loads of laundry, but nothing else. 

I realized at noon that although I was being patient, the expected call wouldn’t come any sooner. Since the house was empty, I decided to do some baking.  I decided to make a small batch of biscotti. 

After putting together a batch of my usual favorite – cranberry almond and still no phone call, I decided to change up the recipe a bit to make lemon poppyseed biscotti as well. I like when you can take a basic recipe that you know really well and make a few adjustments to have another equally easy and yummy recipe. 

Well, I should have thought it through a little more because it didn’t exactly go according to plan. Still focusing on the phone call that never came I mixed up the second batch, leaving out the cinnamon and nutmeg and replacing the cranberries with lemon zest, the almond extract with vanilla extract and the almonds with poppy seeds. 

Something didn’t look right. I tasted the dough and realized I had forgotten the sugar!  I added the sugar to the mix and new already the consistency was a little too weird to turn out correctly. 

  
It seems a little lumpy- don’t you think?

Well, the cranberry almond came out as expected 

  
and I dipped them in some of this…

  
Just to add to the decadence!

Then the lemon poppyseed came out and definitely looked grainy. I had intent ended to drizzle some white chocolate on them, but decided to dip them as well. 

  
At least I could hide some of the consistency issues.  Just look at the difference…

  
Cranberry Almond

  

 Lemon Poppyseed

Lastly, I put them in a few containers to add to their allure. 

  Who am I kidding?  I live in a house of guys – they will eat anything and everything!

On a side note- the lemon poppyseed tasted amazing!  There’s nothing better than a delicious mistake!

 

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delicious Mistake

  1. The Camp director says:

    What about the phone call?? Hee-Hee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

