Peach Crisp

I love all the varieties of peaches that are available right now! Big, juicy, yellow peaches are my favorite.  When I saw some in the grocery store this afternoon, I knew I had to get them. 

I thought about making peach scones or peach dump cake or an old fashioned cobbler. Unfortunately, my house is still pretty cleaned out for the summer, and I was missing random ingredients.  

I could have been happy with just a dish of peaches and maybe a little whipped cream, but I knew the guys would frown at such a simple preparation.  I then realized I had all  the ingredients I needed to make a crisp. 

I started by slicing three large peaches and put them in a mixing bowl.  I added a little sugar, nutmeg and flour and put them in a baking dish. I didn’t quite have enough to fill the dish, so I added a few slices of frozen peaches. I sprinkled a little almond extract on and started building the crisp. 

  
To make the crisp I took a cup of flour, half cup of brown sugar and a stick of cold butter and used a pastry cutter to mix them together. I them mixed in a half cup of rolled oats and some cinnamon and added it to the top of the peaches. 

 
 I dotted it with a little butter (because more butter can’t be bad!) before putting it in a 375 degree oven for 45 minutes. It looked amazing when it came out!
  
I didn’t even wait for it to completely cool before I put a little on a plate with a little whipped cream. 

  
Delicious!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Life, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

