Summer Camp 

This post was originally written a month ago, but never got posted.  It has such great memories I just had to post it anyway.

It’s officially summer!

And not just because the calendar says it, but because we are at summer camp.

Ok, Aaron and I aren’t officially at camp, but our Junior High church kids (including our youngest) are.  Every year for the past 8 (or 9 I’m getting too old to remember exactly) years we have brought students to Camp Patmos.  It’s located on Kelley’s Island in Lake Erie.

It’s a really great camp!  It’s such a quaint little island – you can even see Canada from one side!  We think it’s so great, that we are willing to leave at 4A.M. and make the 8 hour trip each year for our kids to catch a ferry to the camp.  Another great perk to such a long trip is that Aaron and I spend a week with his aunt and uncle, whom we absolutely adore! I absolutely love sitting on their porch with them and their dogs to catch up!  We do not get to see them enough, so I cherish this time.

This is the view…

IMG_0074What you can’t see is the wildlife out in the field.  That big field is home to turkey, deer, rabbits, and pheasant, just to name a few.

As much as I love to visit, Aaron is extremely excited each year we make the trip. Here he is about 5 minutes after we arrived…

IMG_2859-0
It’s such a great week, I can’t wait for summer camp each year!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Parenting, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

