Going Bananas

One would think by the title that I’m planning to share about all the events that surrounded my oldest son’s high school graduation. While it would be an apt title for how I was feeling- it is not the subject of this post. It’s literally about bananas – an over abundance of bananas.

Trying to be a good hostess to all who were visiting, I bought lots of fruit to have on hand. This meant that when everyone left, I had a large bunch of bananas that needed to be used for something.

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of always making banana bread!

I decided to make a batch of my new favorite banana cupcakes with cinnamon honey buttercream frosting a la Martha Stewart.  I wrote about them once before here.

image

They were so delicious!  However, I still had more bananas with which to contend.  I searched high and low for a new dessert recipe using ripe bananas.  I finally ran across a great recipe for banana whoopie pies!  Never having made whoopie pies of any kind before, I was unsure if they would come out all right.

I had no need to worry. They were amazing!

IMG_2824
I filled them with cream cheese frosting which worked well. In hindsight a chocolate buttercream or even a peanut butter frosting would have been great options as well.

IMG_2823
Like most whoopie pies, they had to be kept refrigerated and were really at their best for a few days. I think if they had lasted longer the color and flavor would have changed.

I’m actually looking forward to my next  batch of leftover bananas

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Family, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Bananas

  1. The Camp director says:

    Yes and you left a total of 3 ripe bananas here at The Farm Retreat which I made into a Cranberry Banana nut loaf I. There is very little left!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

