Who doesn’t love a fritter?

So, I’m on a new thyroid medication- one I’ve been reading up on for the last year. I can’t tell you how excited I was when my endocrinologist recommended it. I was sure it would be the answer to all my nagging symptoms. My Dr. cautioned me about losing too much weight or feeling wired long into the night. 

Well…………………

I don’t feel any different!  It’s been about two weeks and, not only have I not lost weight, but it’s a miracle if I stay awake past 6 PM. 

Actually, there is one thing that has changed. In the past I rarely ever felt hungry. I would often forget to eat lunch and spent more time snacking to stay awake than fulfilling any hunger pangs. Now, I feel hungry!  Sometimes, I feel hungry before lunch!  Sadly, this feels like more of a problem than a solution to my thyroid issues. 

I’ve decided I need to really give the meds a chance and continue a daily workout and healthy eating. With that said, all the craziness of our month of May(hem) has left my workouts a little sporadic and my eating a little out of sorts. Yesterday, I opted to have a nice big salad for dinner and some zucchini fritters. 

Here’s how it started…

  
Shredded zucchini!  I salted it a little and let it sit for 10 minutes to draw out some of the liquid. 

In the meantime, I chopped some spring onion, garlic and fresh basil. 

  
After the zucchini drained for a while, I wrapped it up in a towel and squeezed out the remaining liquid. 

  
I beat one egg in a bowl and added the zucchini, onion, garlic, and basil. To bind it, I added a little flour and some Parmesan cheese. 

  
I added a little olive oil to a sauté pan and cooked the fritters over medium heat. 

  
Because I salted the zucchini to draw out the water, I waited until they were cooked and let each person salt and pepper to their own taste. They were delicious!

  
They were a great complement to my salad!  

  
Thinking about serving them to company next week!  If you’re looking for a great vegetarian option, zucchini fritters are a great option!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

