MAY really is short for “MAYHEM”

Over the course of the last 20 years, I have repeated the above phrase each spring.  As a teacher I spent this month having with my students finishing up projects, working through the final portion of my curriculum and prepping for comprehensive final exams – and I was busy as a wife and mom at home.  As a part of the administration, it was equally as busy finishing teacher observations and coordinating programs, awards ceremonies and graduations – I was busy as a wife and mom at home.

This spring I was sure that I would be breaking the cycle of craziness.  I mean – I’m just a wife and mom at home, right?

Right!

The month started out so relaxing – soccer games and Mother’s Day.  It got a little crazy after that – soccer games, bloodwork, a trip to the endocrinologist, soccer games, prepping for a yardsale and then spending the day at the yardsale, a few home maintenance activities, soccer games, youth group planning and prepping, soccer tryouts, senior awards, addressing and labeling graduation announcements, substitute teaching, Memorial Day weekend soccer tournament and this weekend Midnight Madness (a super fun Junior high youth activity that’s positively exhausting), prepping the house for guests next week and a few soccer games!

Oh well, we wouldn’t have it any other way!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MAY really is short for “MAYHEM”

  1. overholt8 says:

    How was graduation? How did you survive? I was a crying basketcase of a mom… But then that would not be a surprise to you!

    Like

    • macfishreed says:

      It really was a whirlwind! I didn’t cry at all, which was surprising. I’m not looking forward to the college part. Guaranteed I will be sobbing much, if not the whole way home.

      Like

      • overholt8 says:

        I could hardly talk because the cry was bubbled up in my throat, I don’t think I spoke much on the way home, and I did not speak much at the college. It was so so hard, but of course now the kid is home again… indefinitely

        Like

Leave a Reply

