It’s a good day for Fruit Salsa and Chips

As an educator, I have pretty high expectations for each of my guys.  Unfortunately, we occasionally differ on what constitutes academic success.  It can be a little stressful for all involved.

I substituted at the local middle school this morning, which also happens to be the school my youngest guy attends.  Ironically, I rarely ever see him.  I do often run into his teachers, which is happened today.  After realizing whose mom I was and getting his class started on a writing assessment, he spent some time sharing with me how much he enjoyed having my guy in class.  At first, it seemed like a rather standard practice when a teacher comes across a parent unexpectedly; however, this teacher continued on sharing specific details about him and his unique capabilities.   I walked away a proud mom, who was also impressed by this teacher’s personal interest in his students.

As a reward, I decided to make fruit salsa with cinnamon sugar tortillas.  I had just made Salpicon de Frutas for a Spanish class, so I had some leftover fruit.  I diced and apple, fresh pineapple, mango and watermelon.  I also had frozen blueberries and raspberries that I thawed.  After putting them in a bowl together, I got out a jar of peach mango preserves…

imagehomemade by my favorite farm on Paradise Road.

I took half the jar, added 1/4 cup of water and heated it on the stove.  After it cooled a bit I mixed it with the fruit.  Voila!

imageThe chips are just as simple to make.  They start with regular flour tortillas that I brush with a little canola oil.

imageI sprinkled on a little cinnamon sugar.

imageI baked them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.

imageI let them cool for about 20 minutes and then put them in a bowl.

imageI’m so excited to eat these and tell the youngest just how proud I am of him today!

image

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Family, Life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

