Snickerdoodles and Celery Sticks

I’ve been working on a lot of projects lately and today was no exception.  Unfortunately most of my projects are in different stages of completion.  Sometimes it’s because I’m waiting waiting for paint to dry or a repair to be made or just some inspiration about how to begin or finish a piece. Today’s projects included making slipcovers for the chairs in my office, painting a tray (sounds super simple, right?), turning a cabinet door into a sign of some kind or chalkboard and laundry (Because -in a house full of guys who play soccer, there’s always laundry!) The inability to start and finish a project in one day is a little discouraging sometimes.  Today was one of those days, so I decided to take drastic measures which means I HAD to make cookies.  Snickerdoodles are a favorite in our house, and they were a project I could begin and finish in a relatively short period of time.  Just look at them… imageimageThe problem with making snickerdoodles is that I kind of love them, but I’m kind of trying to cut down on bread, pasta, rice and sweets.  I’m pretty sure that cookies fall into at least one of those categories. Since I knew I wouldn’t be able to handle the temptation for too long, I decided to make a somewhat less sweet treat that I could indulge in – Celery Sticks! I put together a mix of cinnamon and some part sugar/part splenda and some reduced fat cream cheese. imageAnd put it on a handful of celery sticks.  While it’s not exactly the same, it helps me feel like I’m not on some kind of restrictive diet.  It helps me feel like I’m in control of making a better equally as delicious choice. imageThey are really good.  You should give it a try! imageimage

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Family, Life, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

