Happy Birthday, Dad!

My Dad is having a milestone birthday today.  He has finally hit the big seven-oh; that’s right – 70!

My parents and my sister are coming down this weekend, and we’ll be celebrating our three March birthdays – my Dad’s (today), mine (Sunday) and my middle guy, Dylan’s (Wednesday).  It’s going to be great!

In honor of his birthday, I want to share a little bit about my dad!

IMG_1806My dad is an incredibly hard worker.  He had his first full-time job at 15 working at a sawmill.  He couldn’t drive, so he would catch rides to and from work every day.  Although he never finished high school, he used his entrepreneurial skills and determination to build his own sawmill business.  He was the owner and operator of a successful business for years but his humility never allowed him to behave like he was better than anyone else.  Even though he’s been retired for some time, he’s never stopped working.  The property looks like a curated park and there’s always some project needing to be done.

IMG_9231 - Version 2

He is a bit of a perfectionist.  I have seen him work on projects (for which he has had no plans), creating something awesome and then take them apart and put them back together, creating something even better.  He’s never impressed by his own creations, but I can tell you that his cutting boards in particular are sought after by many.  I love that I can say something like,” Dad, do you have any scrap wood that could be used to make some bird houses?” and 45 minutes later he will bring 3 completed bird houses down from his workshop.

imageHe’s an awesome grandfather!  My guys and their cousin, Stevie, have a tricked out “clubhouse” because my dad thought it was important to give the boys a place to play.  It started as a simple doorless shed that my sister and I played in as kids.  It now is a completely insulated cabin with a full bathroom, bedroom with custom made bunk beds, a living room area with a TV for movies and games, and a kitchenette with a refrigerator and cabinets with custom made butcher block counters.  There’s a really cool porch to sit on, looking into the woods on one side and views the garden on the other side.  They also have hammocks to hang in the trees and a fire pit that we have bonfires in throughout the year!  He is patient with the guys and takes time to teach them about woodworking, driving equipment like the tractor, and hunting and everything that goes with it.

IMG_1412

While life has been full of ups and downs, my dad has come through like a champ.

image

Happy Birthday, Dad (a.k.a. Gramps)!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

