Reupholstering a Reupholstered Chair Day 1

At least 12 years ago (Maybe more… I’m about to be 44 and my memory already shaky!) my sister brought home a wingback chair in great disrepair that she got at a yardsale.  I remember her saying something like, “Oh, you can fix this.  It’ll be easy.”

I replied something along the lines of, “Sure.  It’ll be fun.”  Famous last words. Because it was my first reupholstering experience and because I’m a cheapskate who was waiting to get the necessary material on sale, it took me about a year to complete the job.

It moved back to Maryland with us, serving as a place to sit and read a book or my likely to toss laundry on.  It moved back to Pennsylvania when we sold our house and were living in an RV waiting for the closing on our new house.  It ended up in the guys’ clubhouse as a favorite seat for our lab, Maddie before she passed and of our nephew, Stevie, during movie time.

The fabric was starting to look dingy, so I thought it was time to give it a new look…that was about 10 months ago.  So, today I decided it was time to start the process.  Granted I don’t have a fabric chosen for it, but I’m hopeful that I’ll figure it out soon. Here’s what it looked like when I started today… imageI started removing the fabric and started to remember how difficult a job it was the first time.  The decorative tacks are pretty… image…but don’t come out so easily.  Several of them looked a lot like this when I was done…. imageI’d forgotten that I didn’t use staples, but instead the upholstery tacks I found in the chair originally.

image

Maisy decided to supervise the project for a while. imageLeo came and together with Maisy decided the tack pulling was boring, so they took a nap on my sweatshirt.

imageI also forgot that my dad had to rebuild the bottom of the chair to add stability.  Yes, these are tongue and groove boards you might see used in paneling or flooring. imageOnce I finally got all the tacks out, I was happy to see that I had put a layer of muslin on the chair under the fabric.  I think that will make this project a little easier. imageI’m thinking about going with a darker colored fabric and maybe painting the legs.  I have a sub job tomorrow, so I can take a little time to find some options that I like.  I can’t wait to get to the next step!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reupholstering a Reupholstered Chair Day 1

  1. The Camp director says:

    Its all about “that dog”, about “that dog”. They make the projects exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

