I’m turning into my mother

One of my hobbies is photography.

I really enjoy it.

Most of my photography is of my family – my guys playing sports, our nieces and nephews, vacations and now our new pups.  Action photos and candid shots are my favorite because they freeze time and, ultimately, a memory forever.  One of my favorite captured memories was this photo of Aaron’s grandmother.

IMG_1752

It was the last extended Mosher family vacation before she passed.   Even though she wasn’t feeling her best, she was still smiling.  I love this photo.

But that’s not what this post is really about.

My mother is also an avid amateur photographer.  My love for this hobby likely came from her interest in photography especially when I was a teen.  She took plenty of photos of my siblings and me, but she also had and still has tons of photos of nature – animals, flowers, bugs. I can remember going through stacks of her photos (because people actually printed photos then!) and seeing photo after photo of nature and wondering why she took so many photos of a particular plant or ladybug or deer.

Well, in all honesty, I enjoy taking those same kinds of photos now.  Now my guys are the ones rolling their eyes as I show them photo after photo of nature, pointing out the amazing detail that my camera is able to capture.

I took some of these very photos this week, after we had some freezing rain that stuck around until the sun finally came out.  So, in honor of my mother, here are a few of my recent favorites.

Enjoy! (Or roll your eyes and ask “why?”  I’ll never know.)

IMG_3308 IMG_3331 IMG_3335 IMG_3337 IMG_3351

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m turning into my mother

  1. The Camp director says:

    Love those “icy” photos! Remember every photo taken tells a story, makes your audience wonder why how and when, just as it did when your were a teen. Photos are proof of an existence, a way of making and keeping memories alive.

    Like

  2. macfishreed says:

    Well said, Camp Director! Thank you for following my blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

