College trips are bittersweet- and sometimes, bitter cold.

We took our oldest to Paul Smith’s College last weekend.  It’s one of the schools at which he has been accepted and has been offered some scholarship money.  The students who were there last weekend were in attendance for the sole purpose of earning the Presidential Scholarship – a full four-year scholarship.  What I didn’t realize before we went was that there is only one such full scholarship granted each year.  With that said, I think my son is amazing in every way – athletically, socially, academically, spiritually; but, I’m not holding out any hope that he will be awarded with that scholarship.

Anyway-

The school is in the Adirondack Mountains of New York.  I love the Adirondacks

IN THE SUMMER!

It was literally a high of 2* with the wind chill making it feel more like -15*.

I’m from Northeastern Pennsylvania, so I grew up in a cold winter climate.  I also had a Dad who liked to save a little heating oil money and encouraged us to “put on a sweatshirt” when we felt chilly.  However, as I stood there listening to a student wearing no hat or gloves tell us that it felt warm to him in comparison to the -44* (with wind chill) that they had the previous week, I knew that my Maryland born son must be absolutely crazy for wanting to attend a school so far north.

As a mom, I am excited for this next phase in his life; however, I’m not happy about the fact that he’ll be participating in this next phase without me.  I battled quite a few emotions on this trip and prayed a lot about the decision he will soon have to make.  In order to keep my emotions in check, I took pictures with my phone (I forgot my camera!).  I hope you enjoy our voyage in photo form.

image

This could have been a picture of either day of traveling. Lake effect snow from Lake Ontario made parts of the trip treacherous.

I remember traveling with my parents and siblings one summer to see the Thousand Islands and Saint Lawrence Seaway.

I remember traveling with my parents and siblings one summer to see the Thousand Islands and Saint Lawrence Seaway.

Aaron's cousin Derek was stationed at Fort Drum for a while.  He and his family are in Germany now.

Aaron’s cousin Derek was stationed at Fort Drum for a while. He and his family are in Germany now.

image

My nephew, Stevie, is a John Deere fan. He basically a fan of all big equipment, especially tractors of all makes and models. We took this photo for him.

Did I mention how far north we were?  Yep.  Canada was the next left turn.  It was fun to listen to all the French speaking stations on the radio.

Did I mention how far north we were? Yep. Canada was the next left turn. It was fun to listen to all the French speaking stations on the radio.

This is a lake.

This is a lake.

This is another lake.  At least I think there's a lake under all that snow.

This is another lake. At least I think there’s a lake under all that snow.

image

Check out the amount of snow on top of the sign. It was nothing compared to the amounts of snow all over the campus.

image

There is a program for students during which they tap, collect sap and make maple syrup on campus. I love that they gave us a sample as a gift.

I was desperately hoping to see a moose on our trip, but the only wildlife I saw was this female pheasant and that was less than a mile from my parent's house on Paradise Road.

I was desperately hoping to see a moose on our trip, but the only wildlife I saw was this female pheasant and that was less than a mile from my parent’s house on Paradise Road.

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Parenting, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

