Apple Chips – Epic Fail, sort of.

We’re headed out of town this weekend on a college trip and I had a bunch of extra apples, so I thought “maybe I should make some apple chips for the long car ride.”  I’ve eating plenty of apple chips, but never made any.  I could have found a recipe, but I thought I would wing it. How hard could it be?

I sliced three gala apples…

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t like the core and seed, so I used a pastry tip to “core” each slice.

image

 

In the meantime, I mixed some cinnamon and sugar and a pinch of salt.  And then I took it a step too far.  I added some brown sugar.  They looked pretty amazing.

 

 

They looked amazing even before they were baked.

image

 

If you are a baker, you know what happened next.  I put them in the oven and baked them for a few hours, flipping halfway through the process.  They looked great when they came out.

image

 

The epic fail you ask?  The molasses in the brown sugar made them a little to sticky to bag for a car ride.  The “sort of” ?  The guys ate them all almost immediately, so they weren’t really a fail.  That’s one of the great things about being a mom to a bunch of guys – almost nothing that edible is ever considered a fail!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Family, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

