Snow Day Breakfast

We finally got a snow day here in Maryland.  It’s actually our second day off for weather, but the first with real snow fall.  The pups didn’t seem to know and got Aaron out of bed at 5:30 like it was a normal day.  I usually feel guilty that he is the one to get up with them, but when he put them in bed this morning after they had been out in the snow and cold I felt he was vindicated.

Fortunately, Maisy warmed up quickly next to me and Leo next to Aaron, and we all fell back to sleep for a few more hours.  We finally did emerge and all braved the outdoors for a potty break and then Aaron started the shoveling.  I got the guys rallied and they started to clear the cars, driveway, sidewalk and deck.

In the meantime, I decided some breakfast sandwiches and scones would be a good reward for their hard work.  I had some venison breakfast sausage (*please see note below) thawed in the refrigerator ready for skillet.

I started with the scones  – Harvest Pumpkin to be exact.  in order to provide full disclosure, I must admit it was a box mix.  I almost never use box mixes, but this was one my mom had given me from King Arthur Flour.  I love their products, so I knew they would be delicious!  Take a look at these…

image

I added the sugar on top for a crunch and then decided to make a glaze with a little powdered sugar, milk and vanilla extract.  They were so pretty I broke out a special luncheon set I recently found at Goodwill to serve one on.

imageWhile the scones were baking I cooked the sausage and then prepped the eggs to cook to order for the sandwiches.  Since the boys were still outside, I went ahead and made one for myself.

I toasted the buns in a little butter…image

imageHaving that nice toasted crunch when you bite into the soft roll really makes the sandwich even better.  I added a thin layer of light mayo, an egg white, a thin slice of provolone and a small piece of sausage.  It was so delicious!

imageMy middle child was famished, so I put one together for him in some foil to eat while he was shoveling.

image

I hope you all enjoyed your snow day, wherever you are!

******NOTE – Another bit of full disclosure is that I’m not a huge fan of venison.  I’m really not even a little fan of venison, but I have learned to appreciate it because my guys like to hunt and they like to eat it.  It’s also very cost effective.  The $130ish we spend each year to get a deer processed provides a lot of meat in various forms (sausage, burger, steaks, roast). Finally, I know that it is a healthier option. Wild deer are not filled with hormones or injected with any kind of medicines.  Even with a little pork fat added to sausage, it is still a very lean meat.  With that said, I loved the sandwich – venison sausage and all!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Family, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

