Cheesy Bread – Enough Said

I don’t know why it is, but I always feel a little guilty when I cook pasta for dinner.  It’s usually because I don’t have a plan for dinner and pasta is always a quick and easy option.  And, let’s face it, it is also a very inexpensive meal to serve.  I calculated the amount I spent on a pasta meal with bread and salad for our family of five and it was about $12 total.  Honestly, who can beat that?

However, it is still a rather humble meal.  So, to make the penne with meat sauce and simple garden salad seem even more special I made cheesy garlic bread!

Do you like the exclamation point I added?  Cheesy garlic bread is very exciting  – especially for someone who was detoxing all of last week.

I used my favorite Betty Crocker dinner roll recipe to make the bread.  It’s so simple, but also so versatile.  I started with the dry ingredients – flour, sugar, salt, rapid rise yeast and butter.

image

The recipe recommends mixing with a spoon, but I like to use my KitchenAid.

I then added a mixture of heated milk and water to the dry ingredients and then an egg.

Instead of heating the milk/water mix on the stove top, I took a short cut and used the microwave.

Instead of heating the milk/water mix on the stove top, I took a short cut and used the microwave.

Then I mixed it for a minute, scraped down

the sides, added a little more flour and mixed for another minute until combined.

imageimage

I kneaded it for five minutes and left it to rise in an oiled bowl.

imageWhile it was rising, our pups were getting a rise out of me by destroying their bed and then sleeping on it.  Love those kids!

imageAfter is rose and I punched it down, I separated it into two portions.  I shaped them into two Italian style loaves and baked them off at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

imageOnce baked and slightly cooled, I split one loaf in half and slathered on a mixture of salted butter, garlic powder, mayonnaise, and some freshly shredded colby jack cheese.  Five minutes under the broiler and a simple pasta dinner just became a little more special.

image

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

