Christmas Cabinet

A little more than a year ago Aaron and I had talked about a kitchen island for his mom. My in-laws live in a beautiful log cabin with an open layout main floor and a lofted master suite.  While it has lots of open space, it lacks in counter/storage space in the kitchen.  A moveable island seemed like a great solution, but in pricing different options we knew the cost could be prohibitive.

My dad makes amazing cutting boards and has made some butcher block counter tops for the kids’ clubhouse and my Mom’s pantry area. We knew this kind of counter  top would be perfect for the log cabin. A plan to create our own island was slowly formed over the next several months.

My dad got started on the counter top, a process I can’t really do justice in describing. To say he is meticulous or the process is extensive would not begin to even scratch the surface of the details.  I think a future blog post will have to be dedicated to an interview and pictures of the process.

In the meantime, while my sister was in MD for a work trip in October, we stopped at my favorite salvage warehouse Second Chance to look at all the treasures.  We took a stroll down the kitchen cabinet aisle when I spotted it – the perfect cabinet!

image

I know what you’re thinking, “Ewww…the perfect cabinet?  You must be kidding!”

Nope.

It was perfect, but we had my sister’s Fusion and I was shopping with $1.54.  The cabinet wasn’t a lot, but it was more than $1.54.

Less than a month later, Aaron and I went back and, fortunately, it was still there!  Honestly, who else was going to buy it?

We got it home, looked it over, and realized our work was cut out for us.  It was obviously dirty, it had a musty smell, there was water damage, and the ugly, green laminate top  was cracked and peeling.  What had we gotten ourselves into?

I’ll show you exactly what we had gotten into over the course of the next few posts.  Stay tuned!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

