Don’t worry – eat chocolate chip cookies!

What is it about worry and stress that it causes the most annoying side effects?

I’m sure I’m not the only person who experiences these things.  This week it’s mouth sores.  Ugh!

I was thinking about a message I heard a few weeks ago at my in-laws church.  I think I’ve mentioned before that my husband is the Director of Student Ministries (a.k.a. youth pastor) at our church.  Sunday is basically a work day for him, so it’s unusual that we’re at a different church.  I’m so glad we were there when we were because it was a message I need to hear more often.

In it Pastor Bruce gave an illustration that hit close to home.  He said that often when we are dealing with something, our goal is to show faith.  Unfortunately, we have a tendency to give it to God on our terms.  We might say, “Lord, I trust you to take care of this situation as only you know how.”

But what often happens is we say is , “Hey, Lord! I was thinking that maybe You are busy, so I’ll just take that burden back from You.” Or maybe we say, ” Um, Lord, I know You have my best interest at heart, but I think maybe You didn’t realize the timeline I had in mind.  I’ll just take over from here.”  Or we might even fool ourselves into thinking we have totally given our burden to Him, when what we’re really saying is, “Lord, I’m completely ready for You to handle this situation and here is how You should do it.”

I’m guilty of all of the above – the unfortunate qualities of a certified control freak.  So this week, I’ve been praying that God would continue to work on me because I need it!

So instead of being consumed with worry tonight, I’m enjoying some of Aaron’s world famous chocolate chip cookies.  Tonight he was teaching Tanner how to make them…

image image

They added mini chocolate chips and mini Reese’s Pieces to make them extra special.

imageLooks pretty amazing and tastes even better!

image

I think a double batch can take my mind off a lot of worry!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

