Falling off the wagon never tasted so good!

So in an attempt to get rid of the few extra pounds I picked up between Thanksgiving and Christmas, I decided to go with a vegetable/protein heavy diet this week, avoiding needless carbs in bread, pasta and rice.  Making the granola yesterday was a temptation, but I managed to avoid overdoing it.  Today, however, I fell completely off the wagon for some blueberry coffee cake.

Aaron asked me to research some apps for our youth ministry and to come up ideas for a welcome center/desk for our “youth center.” I spent a fair amount of time on the computer researching and browsing pictures, when I realized that hours had passed and I still had my jammies on!  I got dressed, working on my chalkboard project and then a furniture painting project.

It’s amazing how much time passes so quickly during the day!  That makes me sound like I’m a 97 year old, but it really does surprise me.  I spent the last seven years as a Dean of Students; so there was very little downtime in my day, which in turn made it go by pretty quickly.  I assumed that on days when I would be home that it would be and endless amount of time, allowing me to accomplish everything on my list and then some.  Not so, my friends…not so!

Anyway, I realized the guys would be home shortly and I had promised to do something with a container of blueberries I had taken out of the freezer.  No big deal – muffins, scones, cobbler, tarts – all easy options.  Deciding took a little longer than I thought, so I was in the process of putting together ingredients when they walked in the door.  Wanting to hurry the process along, I enlisted Dylan’s help with toasting the almonds.

IMG_1563

Unfortunately, he lost a little focus and some of the almonds got a little too toasted.

IMG_1564

In his defense, it was a tiny pan and he had just gotten home from a long day at school and he’s never toasted nuts before and he’s only almost 15.  At least these were all of his excuses.  Whatever!

Anyway, I retoasted  the almond and cut the sugar in the recipe, so I could sneak a little as a treat later.  I threw it all together and put it in the oven.  I patiently let it cool and decided to cut a piece, so I could take a photo for this blog.  Just look at this…

IMG_1567

It looked so good, I just had to try it.  Two pieces later, I’m sitting here drinking some lemon ginger tea and thinking about another piece.  Oh, well!  Tomorrow is another day!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Falling off the wagon never tasted so good!

  1. The Camp director says:

    ad: needed at The Farm Retreat: someone to roast almonds. Dylan are you available? Love the blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

