Snap out of it – It’s a New Year!

I’m channeling Loretta (Cher) in Moonstruck.  Can you tell?

I’ve been quite lax in posting my blogs lately.  I say “posting” because I have drafted several, but failed to complete them and follow through with posting.  I’ve just been so busy….

busy making excuses and feeling sorry for myself!

I’m sure I just made some of you grimace and whisper, “Yikes or Awkward!”  I know, it’s a little heavy for the New Year.  But I needed that Slap in the face kind of honesty to get myself together!

Long story short – I had a car accident a few weeks before Christmas, my teaching certification was recently denied on a technicality, money is beyond tight due to a lack of sub opportunities and extra expenses due to the car situation.  It’s just been a rough few weeks.

On the bright side, spending time with family in NYC, Newfield and Wyalusing was awesome!  Taking time to focus on Christmas and the amazing gift of Christ was a blessing indeed!  There were definitely moments that I was able to completely avoid thinking about and worrying about things over which I had no control.

SO….today is a new day!  I worked out this morning which boosted my endorphins and gave me a dedicated time to reflect and spend some time in prayer (eyes open, of course!).  I printed my teaching certificate, which was finally worked out yesterday!  Hooray! I started to work on a chalkboard project that’s been waiting for me and made some granola which turned out great!

Here’s what I did…

I started with 3 1/4 cups of oats, 3/4 cup of blanched slivered almonds, 1/4 cup of brown sugar,  1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of salt.

image

In a separate bowl I whisked together 1/2 cup of maple syrup, 1/4 cup of canola oil, 1 tsp of almond and 1 tsp of vanilla.

Syrup I picked up at the Wyoming County Fair.

Syrup I picked up at the Wyoming County Fair.

I put it in a 300* oven.  I stirred it after 15 minutes and then 30 minutes.  I drizzled a little bit of honey over the top and baked it another 10 minutes.  I took it out and put the tray on a rack to cool.

image

After it cooled, I added dried cranberries and some mini chocolate chips.  So good!

image

 

I didn’t even have time to take a photo of the filled jar! It disappeared in no time!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snap out of it – It’s a New Year!

  1. The Camp director says:

    Looks yummy. Bet the “4 guys” loved it by looks of the almost empty jar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

