Men in the kitchen Part II

I realized later that I never posted a picture of Aaron’s cookies.

image

I’m glad I took a photo when I did because they didn’t last long!

While he was making cookies, he casually mentioned that Parker needed some oats for a school project.  Since he was still at school I sent him a text letting him know we had oats and asking what else he may need.  He responded about an additional need for dried apples, so I told him to stop by the store on his way home.

Well, it was snowing a little, so he lost focus and forgot to stop.  Still not knowing what was going on, I was dying to know why he needed it.  I’d love to repeat the conversation for you, but as you can imagine it wasn’t the most riveting.  Basically, he said his English teach “sprung” a project on his class last minute and they were to make something that was Anglo Saxon.  Wow.

To his credit he had found a recipe that he was ready to try, but without the dried apples we were out of luck.  Knowing I had leftover Texas Roadhouse rolls in the freezer, I decided that bread pudding was a better option.  Of course, since it was his project he had to do all the work.

image

This is when he dropped a shell into the mixing bowl.

image

He really wanted to eat the rolls, but we needed them all.

image

Since the foil pans were shallow, we made sure to weigh down the bread pudding to soak up the custard.

image

Yummy! Brown sugar and butter topping.

image

Finished products!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Men in the kitchen Part II

  1. Heidi says:

    I have such a talented nephew! He should make this at Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

