National Cookie Day

Do you ever have days when you feel completely scattered?  Today was one of those days!

My goal for the day was to get the Christmas decorating complete and to clean the office.  While on the treadmill, I was making plans for the decor I still wanted to complete. Then the show I was sweating to announced that today was National Cookie Day.  Great!  I had wanted to make some peppermint meringues as part of a goodies basket for the church staff.  Since they take some time to bake and crisp in the oven, they seemed like a perfect choice to compliment my planned decorating.

Unfortunately, when I got downstairs, I realized there were no eggs. So I put off the decorating to run to the store.  While at the store I decided to get some slivered almonds for a biscotti I wanted to try this weekend as well as a few other items.  I knew I was in trouble because I nearly forgot to get the eggs.

By the time I got home, I was back in decorating mode and went downstairs to get a few boxes.  I only had an hour before the kids were due home and I knew that wasn’t enough time to make meringues.  I switched plans again and made a batch of snickerdoodle dough.

Are you following me? Scattered!

While the snickerdoodle chilled, I decided to hang some garland and …  make…  biscotti.  Where do these random ideas come from?  I’ve always been such an organized, efficient person.  Hmmmm….I just don’t even know!  Here’s the biscotti making step by step…

image

The dry ingredients include flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon,and nutmeg.

image

The wet ingredients were a couple of eggs, plus a few more egg whites whisked with some almond extract.

image

After combining the wet and dry ingredients, I added a bunch of craisins and slivered almonds.

image

The directions said to put it on a floured board to separate, but it would have been easier to take half from the bowl to put on a sheet pan.

imageIt baked at 325 for 30 minutes and came out looking pretty good!

imageI sliced them and put them back in the oven for 20 min.  They came out perfectly!

image

I plan to dip them in white chocolate, but that will have to wait for tomorrow.  As for the decorating, I’m almost done.  Here’s one of my favorite pieces…

image

And the office….well…that will just have to wait for yet another day!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Life, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

