Potluck potatoes

My son’s soccer banquet is tonight and as is usual each grade level was assigned a different part of the meal to bring.  Freshman were assigned side dishes, so I chose an easy, cheesy favorite of my guys.  I’ve been making this recipe for years for both casual dining and special occasions.  It’s a copycat recipe of a Cracker Barrel dish that I only had for the first time within the last year.  I doubled the recipe to have enough for the banquet and some left over for my crowd at home.

Hashbrown casserole is basically made up of hashbrowns, onions, butter, creamed soup and cheese.

image

My guys are big onion lovers, so I usually steam them in the microwave for a minute before adding them the thawed hashbrowns and shredded cheese.  The butter gets melted in the microwave and is then added to the soup. I happened to have 4oz. of cream cheese that I also added – just because.

image

I separated them into the two sprayed dishes and put them in the oven at 350* for about an hour.

image

To make them even more cheesy, I added even more cheese on top.  It took about 5 minutes under the broiler to melt the cheese.

image

What are some of your favorite “go to” recipes?

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

