Yard sale coffee table and bbq chicken

We have a huge yard sale at our church each May that benefits the Youth Group. I’m usually taking someone or another to a soccer game or two that same day, so I never get a chance to sell anything.  I usually get to stop by for a a few minutes, just long enough to try to spot some little gem.  This past spring I spotted a super cool midcentury modern coffee table covered in old tools.  The guy explained that he was in the process of cleaning out his parents’ home and really just wanted to get rid of it.  He priced it at $20 and I said I’d think about it.  I didn’t see anything else other than a few old windows I bought from a friend.  By the time I went back several others had also spotted it, but the table was mine!

Here’s a look at it…

image

It’s a Lane and has a really interesting “surf board” style table top and a unique base and legs.

You can see there’s a bit of damage to the top.  I’ve been a little unsure how to restore it.  Painting it would be an easy option, but I love the look of the wood.  My sister, Heidi, sent me a link to a home remedy for restoring the look of wood and today seemed like a good day to give it a try.

The recipe is 3/4 cup of canola oil and 1/4 cup of vinegar (could be white or apple cider vinegar).  I mixed it up in a mason jar, much like one would mix up a homemade salad dressing…

image

With a few herbs, I’m sure it would have been delicious!

Well, it didn’t resolve all the issues.  There are a couple of wear marks that are going to need more than a little oil and vinegar to fix.  In hindsight, I think I should have sanded down the entire top first.  Here’s the after photo…

image

I really want to strip the top, but I’m a little scared to ruin it.  Needless to say, this is not the last of my work on the coffee table.

In other news, I made bbq chicken thighs for dinner.  I never realized how reasonably priced and yet how delicious the thighs are.  No long winded step by step on this one.  Here’s a photo my son took of his dinner plate…

image

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

