The little green table

One of the items I got ready for the craft show was this little green table….

image

It’s almost up recognizable from the original table I brought home from Goodwill.

image image

Aaron took the lead on the actual repair, so I asked him to guest blog the process.  He wasn’t really feeling the writing part; however, that did not deter me!  Therefore, the following is an interview with Aaron about the table…

Lisa: What was your first impression of the table when I brought it home?

Aaron:  Honestly, I was a little leery only knowing that is was from Goodwill.  I have been on a few excursions to the Goodwill stores with you, and normally we find very little that has “potential”.  Upon seeing the table, however, I thought it did have potential.

Lisa: What particular challenges did it present?

Aaron: There were a few challenges. First, it was missing a side under the table top.  Three of the four bases for the screw in legs needed to be repaired.  It has several detailed grooves in the legs, it was high gloss, and it had a leather top.

image

Lisa: What steps did you take to correct each of those challenges?

imageAaron:  I had to first find, cut, and secure a new side under the table top.  I then Re-secured the three leg bases ( love gorilla wood glue).  I had to spend time sanding down a few rough spots on top of the table.  Finally, the painting process  took several coats of chalk paint to get good coverage.

Lisa:  What were your initial thoughts about the color scheme and chalkboard top?

Aaron: I thought the color added a nice contrast to the leather top and added another color to your collection for the show.  It was green, which fit the Christmas theme.  I initially thought the leather top should stay, but was pleasantly surprised with how nice the chalkboard top looked and how it made the top practical for several uses.

Lisa: What other projects are you working on?

Aaron:  I am presently working on an old cabinet, that will soon be a kitchen island.  It requires a lot of sanding, a slight change in the base to remove some damaged wood, and a new coat of paint.  Additionally, it will have casters, and a new handmade butcher block countertop (courtesy of Lisa’s dad).   I can’t wait to see it finished, but there is still a lot to be done.

Lisa:  Anything else you want to share with the readers?

Aaron:  I have been amazed at what you have been able to create with things that were mainly laying around the house waiting for a personal touch.  It has also been a lot of fun working with you, even though my part is very minimal.

Awww…what a great guy!  I don’t know what I’d do without you, Babe ! (Probably all that tedious sanding!)

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family, Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

