Reaping the Bounty of Paradise

It will be a year in January that Aaron and I started getting healthy.  It was in the early months of our new healthful eating that I discovered spaghetti squash.  It is an amazingly versatile squash that easily replaces pasta in almost any way that can be imagined.  I loved it so much, I begged my parents to add it to their garden this past summer.  I even bought a packet of seeds to egg them on.

Fortunately, my mom took on the challenge and grew two plants from the original seed packet.  They babied the plants throughout the summer. They even put the little squashes on repurposed plastic milk containers to keep them off the ground, avoiding any rot caused by moisture.  Never having grown this particular variety of squash, we were all a little unsure of how they would turn out.  On my last visit over Labor Day, we harvested five squash.  Three have been sitting on my counter since then.

That is – until today !  I finally cooked one today and it was amazing!  Here’s the breakdown…

image


The squash looks a little rough on the outside, but was unaffected on the inside.

image

I took out the seeds, drizzled some olive oil, added salt and pepper and turned them over to bake at 450* for 40 minutes.  In the meantime, I chopped an onion and a green pepper and sautéed them with mushrooms in a skillet. Then I sliced some turkey sausage and added it to a separate skillet (some of my guys don’t care for peppers and mushrooms).

image

image

The squash came out of the oven looking great!

imageI shredded it with a fork and put it all together. Looks pretty good, right?

imageBest of all- it’s somewhere around 200 calories for the whole serving!  Healthy meal – thanks to the garden on Paradise Road!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

