Last Minute Dessert

I went to the dentist today.  Unlike many people I know, I LOVE to go to the dentist!  That’s right – LOVE!  I had braces as a teenager and endured palatable expanders, years of TMJ symptoms, and surgery to correct an underbite, but I never had a cavity!  My mom was an avid proponent of brushing!

When I was pregnant with my oldest son, my wisdom teeth started to bother me.  The dentist told me to wait until after Parker arrived it have them taken out.  I still had never had a cavity!  (Those of you who are mom’s out there know where this is headed.). I went less than a year later to have my wisdom teeth removed, and I had 9 cavities!!!!!!!  Kids really do suck the life out of you (and apparently the calcium, too). I haven’t had another cavity since then.  I’m a big time flosser, so there isn’t even a lot of scraping during my cleanings.  My hygienist and I have wonderful conversations while I’m in the chair.  If only they gave smiley face stickers or plastic toys to adults!

This may seem like a strange way to open a post entitled, “Last Minute Dessert.”  Stay with me- it’s all about to make sense.

When I came out of the dentist’s office a crazy storm cloud blew through and suddenly where there were but a few sprinkles now a deluge existed.  It was pouring- raining cats and dogs! The kids were having leftovers for dinner, so I wanted to make something yummy for dessert.  I had planned to stop at the grocery store to pick up a few things, but I’m a fair weather kind of girl.  Instead, I drove myself home.     Since I was in a hurry (and there were a few apples starting to get soft on the counter) I opted for an easy recipe – Last Minute Apple Danish.

Aside from thinly sliced apples, the ingredients included brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, corn starch and a can of crescent rolls (the perfect last minute pastry crust!).  Here’s a look at the apples mixed with all the ingredients…

image

I wasn’t trying to make it too pretty, but I was trying to get all the apples inside.

image

It’s not the best looking pastry I’ve put together, but it works. And, let’s face it – I live with four guys- aesthetics are rarely high on the list of priorities when it comes to food.

image

It baked on 350* for 15ish minutes. Looks pretty delicious to me!

image

What’s your favorite last minute go to dessert?

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Minute Dessert

  1. Betty Reynolds says:

    Dessert looks pretty delicious to me.

    Like

  2. camp director says:

    The Pillsbury Company just loves cleaver bakers like you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

