Making banana bread and killing fruit flies (a.k.a. Tuesday )

What is it with the fruit flies?  They appeared about a week ago and have been growing in number since!  Here’s a few of them having a conversation- not a care in the world!

image

They make me crazy, especially because I can’t figure out the source of there attraction to my kitchen – which, of course, is what led me to make banana bread today.  Well, actually, I made bananas foster muffins.  But, let me tell you about this first…

When we first moved into this house three years ago, we had a neighbor named Nancy who was in a wheelchair suffering with the effects of cancer.  She was the most mobile wheelchair bound cancer victim I have ever seen!  Knowing her time was limited, she spent every moment she could outside with her daughters and the family dogs.  One morning, while trying to do some laundry, she spilled an entire bottle of detergent on the floor.  She called on Aaron, who gladly helped her and her oldest daughter clean up the mess.  Later that evening, her husband appeared at the back door with a gift from Nancy – the most amazing banana bread I’ve ever had!

Unfortunately, Nancy passed away less than 6 months later – and I’ve been trying to replicate her banana bread ever since.

I have tried every sort of banana bread recipe there is, but couldn’t match the dessert like consistency of Nancy’s. I tried adding extra butter and brown sugar to the batter, but that didn’t seem to be the right solution.  Then, about a month ago, I ran across a recipe for bananas foster bread.  Reading the recipe directions, I found the added step of “soaking” the bread in a rum syrup.  It was as if the heavens opened up, a light pierced the darkness and in an audible voice God said, “Duh! Why didn’t you think of that?”

So, today I finally had the time to test it out.  The original recipe can be found on the Brown Eyed Baker blog from 2009.  (I can’t believe I didn’t find this sooner!) I changed it slightly by making a recipe and a half and using butter and vanilla extracts and half & half for the milk.  I also opted not to use the rum in the syrup because it’s not cooked off, and I made these with my guys in mind.  Lastly, I opted for muffins instead of a loaf.

image                               image

Flour, baking soda, baking powder.                          Sugar, bananas, eggs, extracts.

image    Ready for the oven!

image                              image

They look so good.  And with the syrup added, they look even better!

I got a thumbs up from the guys!  The middle child was even begging for more!  I think they’re delicious; however, while his is the closest I’ve come, it’s still not as good as Nancy’s!

Oh, and those pesky fruit flies – I found a home remedy for those. Here’s my solution…

image          image

… a fruit fly trap. Wish me luck!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

