Comfort in the times of storm

I looked at my phone this morning at 3:12 and have been awake ever since…

It’s another stormy day in MD, and I had planned to write about comfort food today.  Chilly wet days always make me want to curl up in the quilt my grandmother made and eat comfort food.  I even made some great casseroles today. They’re my husband’s favorite – chicken casserole and sweet potato casserole (the one with brown sugar and pecans, not marshmallows).  My mother in law makes this dishes

Instead I woke up at 3:12, and I needed comfort. The beauty of my faith is that whenever I need it, I only need to ask.  So, I did.  The reason for my early morning anxiety isn’t even that important.  I’m often reminded of the passage in John 16:33 where it says, “In this world, you will have trouble…”  We could debate about context and maybe even the translation used, but it’s still applicable to our everyday circumstances.

The beauty of this promise (if you’ll allow me to refer to it as such) is that it’s twofold and the second half begins with a big BUT.  Yes, you heard me (although I’m sure you noticed the spelling difference).  The second half says, “…but I have overcome the world.”

Need I say more?  No, but I want to add one more note on this verse.  The beginning could easily be moved to the end even though it’s referring to information given prior to this verse.  “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace.”  Not in others, not even in comfort food!

I hope you, too, find comfort from the difficulties of life!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comfort in the times of storm

  1. Laura Jones says:

    Awake since 3:12!? You must be so tired!

    Like

  2. Weez says:

    Some of my favorite verses…especially what I needed this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

