A new phase in my journey

Once I returned from paradise last week, I attended substitute orientation.  Yes- I am officially a substitute teacher in Calvert County Public Schools.  I’ve already completed a few jobs at two local high schools.  It’s had its ups and downs, but I’m praying every day that God gives me the patience and endurance to see this opportunity through to the end of the school year.  I subbed this morning for a social studies teacher with great plans and typically good students, including one who had been a student of mine just three years ago.

By the time I got home to start working on my projects, the cool temperatures and rain had me chilled to the bone.  I donned some yoga pants and a sweatshirt and decided homemade soup and rolls HAD to be made for dinner.

As usual I decided on ingredients I already had on hand rather than go back out into the rain.  So I started with a really large chicken breast, salt, pepper and a little water.

image

I chopped up the usual base veggies and waited for the chicken to cook through.

image

I then removed the chicken added the veggies, some bouillon cubes and more water .

image

Did you notice the bowl with the rising bread in the background? That’s a beautiful sight isn’t it?  Here’s a close up …

image

I found some leftover Chinese takeout rice in the freezer.  See, it still has the shape of the box.

image

I added it, some frozen green beans and corn and the chopped chicken breast back into the pot.

image

…And the final product…

image

In the meantime, I formed the dough into rolls and let them rise for a final time.

image

My mouth was watering as I watched them bake!  Take a look at these beauties…

image

Of course a little quality control was in order!

image

Maybe I should make some of these for my next substitute assignments!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

