I saved 53%!

I wouldn’t call myself an extreme coupon clipper, but I do really like saving money at the grocery store.  Since switching to a more healthful lifestyle at the beginning of the year, I realized that a lot of my weekly budget was spent on fresh produce. It really pushed me to save every cent possible on everything else I buy.  That is why I spend a chunk of time every Wednesday or Thursday getting my lists and coupons together.  I try to keep our food budget between $150-$175 each week.  That can be tricky with three teenage boys in the house, but I like the challenge!

I’m fortunate enough to live less than a mile from a Safeway, Giant and Walmart that has started carrying some refrigerated items.  This affords me the opportunity to get the best deals at each without wasting money driving from store to store.  Safeway has become my “go to” store for the most deals.  I like the fact that I can stack paper coupons on top of store deals and their rewards card offers – and they give me stuff for free!  Today I scored a Liberte yogurt and a Chili’s frozen meal for two for free!  In addition to the rewards card offers and store deals, I had $15 in paper coupons.  That made my total savings equal 53%. I love the feeling I get when I get back a huge register receipt that shows all of my deductions!

I still have to make a trip to Giant for just a few items, but I have coupons for those as well.  Any other items will be picked up at Walmart. I’ll scan my receipts in the savings catcher app to make sure I didn’t miss a better deal at another store.  I’ve become such a shopping nerd!  However, with all this effort, I should have no trouble keeping this week’s grocery costs within the budget.

What “nerdy” tips do you have for saving money?

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Life, Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

