Good to Great

I started reading a new book today – Good to Great by Jim Collins.  It’s a book that explains why some companies make the leap from being “good” companies to becoming “great” companies and why others don’t.  Seems like a strange choice for someone who has spent the last 20 years in education and not only doesn’t own a business but also doesn’t even have a job!  As someone whose interest is to be better than good at whatever I’m working at, it seems more than reasonable that a book like this could give me valuable insight. I’m only 50 pages into the book and can see how this is applicable to more than just the business world.

In addition to getting some reading in today, before the kids came home early, I was working on a pair of end tables.  I got them a few years ago at a huge yard sale our youth group sponsors at church.  I didn’t actually find them. I’d sent my kids to scout out end tables for our living room. Unfortunately most options included brass, glass or cheap veneer- not really my taste.  My youngest ended up finding some that were real wood and had potential.  Well, their potential has long been waiting to be realized.  Here is the before picture…

image

Pink topped tables in a house full of guys?  You’re probably wondering why it took me so long to change them!  I just never had the time or so I thought.  Now I have no excuses.

Here’s the first finished product…

image

I started by covering much of the table with black paint, because I didn’t want the pink to show through.  I then made some white chalk paint from a recipe I found on Pinterest, distressed the table and finished it with wax.  I really like the end result, but I don’t think the tables really go with the style of my living room.  They are just too pretty!  I may just sell them, but I should probably find an alternative first.

image

What do you think?  Good or great?

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

