Sausage, bacon, cheese – oh, my!

Yesterday was exhausting!

I couldn’t wait to crawl into bed!  In addition to getting the ingredients together to do the detox this week, I also managed to volunteer to make pasta for the soccer team.  So yesterday was spent chopping a lot of veggies, cooking a lot of pasta and trying not to snack on any of it.  Here are some of the temptations that surrounded me…

image

This was the sausage, onion, and cheese pasta I made for the team.  My son said it was a big hit!  I was drooling over the sausage, but refrained from giving in.

Since I had a huge pot of water, I made bacon mac and cheese for dinner last night.  I don’t care for the processed cheeses, so I made a cheese sauce that started with a roux (equal parts butter and flour).

image

Once it turned a light brown, I added some 1% milk (because it’s what we had in the refrigerator) and waited for it to thicken to this point…

image

Then I added a bunch of cheese (I had some pre shredded Colby jack) and then added the pasta.  I had to set some plain mac and cheese aside for the picky eater, but chopped bacon to mix into the main dish.

<Sigh>

Bacon.  Just look at it…

image

Here are the final products…

imageimage

Looks pretty yummy, right?

The last and most important thing I made yesterday was the soup for the detox.  I don’t always follow the recipe exactly, but I do try to load it up with veggies…fresh, canned, frozen…just lots.

image

I also always use bouillon cubes.  Sometimes I use beef, sometimes chicken, sometimes vegetable and sometimes a mix.  Yesterday’s version turned out like this…

image

Delicious!

Today I’ve chopped some veggies and heated some frozen veggies, but I have yet to cook anything.

hmmm… I’d better go figure out what the kids are having for dinner!

 

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

