1 twix + 1 snickers = a detox

It’s a detox week!  Every so often my husband and I do a detox to help us get refocused on our healthy lifestyle. After eating quite a bit of buttery popcorn and TWO candy bars yesterday, I knew I needed to get back on track.  We started doing it in January after members of the extended family did a big weigh in and realized we were all in need of a lifestyle change.  It really wasn’t only about the numbers on the scale, but also about how we felt.

I have been dealing with hypothyroidism for some time now.  I’m not even really certain when it began, but it was likely shortly after my last son was born 13 years ago.  I wasn’t diagnosed, however, until a little over 6 years ago.  Like many women, I was so busy taking care of everyone else that I forgot to take care of me.  On top of the late diagnosis, my general practitioner was really only focusing on the lab numbers being close to normal and not on treating my symptoms which didn’t seem better.  I switched to an endocrinologist who has worked to alleviate my symptoms along with seeing that my numbers are in a good range.   She is Jamaican and a vegan and has been encouraging me for some time to become one – a vegan, not a Jamaican.  The detox that we do makes me feel like a vegetarian- well, at least on days 1-4 and 7. (There’s beef on days 5 and 6 which I’m pretty sure most vegetarians and definitely all vegans would not be happy about.)

Before I provide you with a link for the detox diet we’ll be following, I want to let you know that…

  • I am not recommending this plan for anyone.  It’s just what we do.
  • I have not been asked by anyone to share this plan with anyone else.
  • I am not receiving any products or a paycheck for sharing this.

So, here’s the plan… Sacred Heart Detox

I have to admit, the hardest thing about following the diet is the mindset one must adopt.  If you go into it feeling like it’s restrictive, then you’ll crave anything and everything.  I like to go into it as if it’s a competition and I want to be the winner.  Consistent exercise is also extremely important.  (Sometimes I get frustrated because I’m eating well and exercising every day religiously and I’m not losing any weight, while my husband is snacking with intermittent exercise and losing pound after pound.)

Since we began our healthy lifestyle, I’ve managed to lose 25 lbs.  Doesn’t sound like much, but I’ve also lost a few sizes and have gained more muscle.  I still want to lose another 25lbs., but have been happy to maintain the loss thus far.  I’m hoping to lose 3lbs this week.

Wish me luck!

(For the record – Aaron has already fallen off the wagon, by eating the bacon mac and cheese I made the kids.  However, he’ll probably lose more weight than me this week.  Ugh- men and their metabolism!  Just not fair!)

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

