Dinner and a bunch of guys!

It’s a rainy day in Maryland which makes me want to make soup. My guys don’t have school tomorrow, so we’re having some friends come over to hang out over night (a.k.a. A sleepover which apparently is not a cool description for teenage boys). Since I’m not sure when each guy is arriving, but I know that all guys are usually hungry all the time; I’m making a big crock of soup.  I wanted to avoid having to go to the grocery store, so I’m putting it together with ingredients I already have.

I started with what some would call the “holy trinity”…

image

Then added some potatoes, water and a chicken bouillon cube…

image

I put the crockpot on high and then made myself a cocktail..

image

Just kidding.  I like a little lemon, lime and ginger with sparkling water when I need an energy boost.

image

After three hours, I added some condensed cheese soup, half and half, milk and cream cheese.  Basically I was adding whatever I found I my refrigerator.  I thought about adding some grated cheese, but decided to use it as a garnish instead.

image image image

I finished it off by adding a few pounds of polish sausage.  It was at this point that I realized some dinner rolls would be nice, so I threw together some dough and came up with these little beauties.

image

Dinner is ready !  We’ll probably pop some popcorn and my husband made his world famous chocolate chip cookie dough that the guys all love   Take a look at this…

image

What are you making for your crew?

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner and a bunch of guys!

  1. Weez says:

    “holy trinity” = mirepoix (pronouced meer-pwah)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

