In the spirit of rebellion

Today is one of those days when I feel like rebelling. After seeing my kids and my husband off for very early trips to their respective schools for “See You At The Pole”, I got back in bed. Why? Because I wanted to!  You see, I usually break out a workout video and/or jump on the treadmill to start my day with a workout.  (And, if I haven’t mentioned this before, I don’t like working out.  Unfortunately, long gone are the days of my youth before marriage, work, ministry, kids, and hypothyroidism basically destroyed my metabolism.  I’m sure some of you can relate!)

I got back up at 8:30, did not make my bed(mainly because I was washing sheets today), threw on a pair of yoga pants and headed to the kitchen for coffee.  Doesn’t seem like a big deal, but I always drink 20 oz of water each morning before I have coffee. I only had maybe a half glass when I took my medication at 5:45 (yeah- thyroid!).

I then decided to make breakfast.  I toasted a slice of bread, added a slice of cheddar, fried an egg to put on top and finished it with a generous portion of salsa.   You don’t think that sounds wild?  My normal breakfast is usually fruit with some kind of protein – banana with peanut butter and sprinkled nuts and cranberries or yogurt with fresh berries.  Terrible metabolism = low carb/low fat/low calorie diet.

Ok, this next move will really prove my rebellion.  I took my breakfast, sat down on the couch and in the true spirit of rebellion watched tv for an hour (Magnum, P.I. was on!)!  Because I think it sucks all the time out of your life and all the life out of your time, I do not watch tv during the day.  I just don’t!

<Sigh>

Isn’t interesting that what most normal people would see as a rather dull morning lacking any real extreme behavior, I see as a reason to feel rebellious on one hand and guilt-ridden on the other?  What makes you feel like a rebel?

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

