Mixed media loaf

How do you feel about meatloaf?  Strange question?  Maybe.  Maybe not.

I have a confession to make…I do not particularly like meatloaf.   There, I said it.  Let the judgement begin.  I mean, really, whose idea was it to create an entree from baked, ground meat?  Odd, if you ask me.

Although I’m not a fan, I live in a house full of guys nearly all of whom LOVE it.  So this means that against better judgment, there are times when I make meatloaf.  Today was one of those days.  Since I have a bit of an aversion to it, I usually add wide variety of ingredients to make it lighter and more flavorful.  Today I made it with ground chicken.  Does that mean I have to change the name to “poultry loaf”?  Seems like a reasonable question. In all honesty, I did add some ground beef because I like a mix.  I guess that makes it a mixed media loaf.

I don’t actually have a real recipe, but that’s what’s so great about cooking.  One really doesn’t need exact amounts to create something delicious.  I can tell you that my loaf did include some of each of the following:

  • Italian style ground chicken (1lb)
  • ground beef (1/2 lb)
  • sandwich bread (soaked in milk)
  • bottled bbq sauce
  • 3 eggs
  • shredded zucchini
  • shredded cheddar cheese
  • parmesan cheese
  • fresh thyme
  • ground mustard
  • garlic salt
  • fresh ground pepper

Here is what it look like when all combined…

image

The loaf looked a little plain, so I wove a little bacon on top to jazz it up…

image

I had some of the mix left, so I made some meatballs to have with another meal.

imageAfter baking the loaf tented with foil for 45 min at 350 degrees, I took off the foil and put it under the broiler for 10 min to crisp the bacon.  Then I brushed on some bbq sauce and put it back under the broiler for 5 min.  Here was the final product…

image

 

And, I have to admit it was pretty good.  At least the guys thought so!  No leftovers!

 

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

