Take me out to the ball game …

I’m fortunate enough to be spending the afternoon at Nationals Park watching a game with my guys and some of our friends.  As we’re sitting here waiting for the game to begin, I’m realizing that moments like this won’t last forever.

image

My oldest (the guy in red) is a senior in high school this year. And, while I’m trying to be cool about it, I am fully aware that these moments are fleeting. At this time next year he’ll be starting the next chapter of his life somewhere else. Great!  Now I’m tearing up at a baseball game.  Awkward!

Anyway, it a good reminder for me to embrace this time that I’m unemployed.  My personality is to be a worrier about the finances, but I’m realizing that God has given me a gift.   I’m able to see my kids off in the morning with a “Love you!” and to have dinner ready every night (even though we’re not always all together to eat it.)

So I’m going to take my friend Jen’s advice (overholt8.wordpress.com) and hug my kids today!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

