Speed bump or off ramp

 

SQR09med

I love this picture (found on this site) of one of my favorite verses .

Today I found out that a position (a middle school dean of students) for which I had gone through two rounds of interviews and thought I would be perfect for was offered and accepted by someone else.  I am disappointed in part because I really enjoy working with middle school students in that capacity, but also, because I really wanted to be done with the job search and to have financial security again. However, I have to admit that part of me is…dare I say it?… happy about this turn of events.  Crazy?

Since I’ve been a stay-at-home wife/mom, I’ve begun to allow my creative side to begin to dream of something….different.   I love all things vintage/old/antique/retro.  How could I not?  I grew up in a home that had barn board paneling and antique farm equipment and all kinds of collectibles.  I also have this crazy pack rat mentality that nothing should be thrown out that is useful and that everything old has value and can be reused or repurposed in some cool way.   

What does this all mean?  I’m not really sure.   But instead of looking at today’s disappointment as a speed bump, I’m choosing to see it as an off ramp.  I’m pursuing other opportunities!  And, to be honest, I have plenty of projects (think pack rat) to get me started on what could be a new avenue of my journey.  I think I’ll start out with this…

securedownload

My mom and I saw this broken frame on the discount porch of one of our favorite antique stores.  We left without it, but I couldn’t stop thinking about how it would be a perfect project piece.  The size alone makes it so appealing!  So, I called my mom (since I live in a different state) and asked her to see pick it up for me the next time she went past that shop.  Fortunately, no one else had my vision and it was still available for the bargain price of $7.50!  What a steal, right?

So, I will be working on transforming this beauty into something amazing…which to me means both fabulous looking and fully functional.

Check back next week to see how it turns out!

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speed bump or off ramp

  1. melszyd says:

    I’m pretty much not crafty at all, but I have a ton of friends who are, so I love watching you all do cool stuff with other people’s JUNK. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

