When life hands you zucchini…

Did you ever have one of those days?  

While the details of that day may be different for each of us, the ending result is almost always the same – frustration.  It’s not that I went into the day looking for trouble.  As a matter of fact, I had my day all planned out.  That was my first mistake.

(You see, I LOVE a list.  There is nothing more satisfying than creating a recipe, of sorts, for a perfectly successful day and then checking off each step until the sweet reward of achievement is reached!   Weird, right?  My kids think so!)

The day started so well.  After the kids left for school, I wrote out a fairly organized and prioritized plan and immediately started with the tasks I like least – working out and cleaning bathrooms.  I finished those rather quickly and worked on the next two steps on the list.  I was heading back inside from the mailbox, when a phone call from the school nurse alerted me that my middle schooler would be unable to return to school Monday due to a missing vaccine. This was the first of several equally frustrating events that disrupted my day.  By early afternoon I realized my dream of full list completion was over, and I headed to the kitchen remembering an often used phrase “When life hands you lemons…”

Well, I don’t have any lemons, but I do have zucchini (from my parents’ garden on Paradise Road!).  So, I’m testing out a new recipe I found for chocolate zucchini bread.

image

I started by by mixing the wet ingredients.

image

Then, I assembled the dry ingredients.  (I probably should have sifted them. Maybe, next time!)

image

The dark powder on top of the cocoa was a tablespoon of espresso powder.  It’s not in the original recipe, but I love the way the coffee flavor enhances the taste of chocolate.

image

Before I put in the zucchini, it looked a lot like brownie mix – although, a very sticky brownie mix!

image

I could fib and say I wanted to test out two different types of loaf pans, but these are really the only two I have!  I added chocolate chips to the top of one to try to entice the picky eater in our family.

image

Here are the finished products cooling.

image

 

My sweet reward for a day that didn’t turn out at all like the plan!  (And the picky eater LOVED it!).

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

