Clever or not- Here I come!

While I like to think that I’m clever, there are times when originality escapes me, and I’m forced to use a common place cliche or become “Queen Obvious.”   This is the case with the name of my blog.  You see, to the casual observer, “Paradise Road 71” and its pithy theme, “It’s all about the journey,” could be considered ingenious.  Truthfully, Paradise Road is the name of the road on which I grew up.  It’s really where the journey began for me!

Here is a picture of the road sign (in winter)……

IMG_9061

Which as you can imagine is often stolen by people longing to live on our road …….or, more likely, by wayward teens looking for a cool sign to hang over their beds.

As for the “71”- you may have guessed it. It’s the year I was born.  Go ahead and do the math.  I have no problem admitting I’m 43; I just have a problem with the days when I’m feeling 43.

So there you have it!  Mystery solved!

 

Today I’m working on a little house maintenance project.  It started with a faucet in the powder room that seemed to have less and less water coming from it.  We have a well, which means we have hard water.   I learned from my mom a long time ago that vinegar cleans just about anything, including hard water deposits, so I thought I’d give it a try.  After cleaning the faucet from the powder room, I went on a vinegar cleaning frenzy and have cleaned every other faucet in the house.  If you’ve never seen the miracle of cleaning with vinegar, check out these pictures….

imageimage

This is the hand held faucet/ sprayer from my kitchen sink and the glass Pyrex bowl filled with plain white vinegar.

image image

 

This is what they looked like after 30 minutes.  Yuck!  The crusty minerals are starting to soften and come off.

image

After an hour and a little wiping with the sponge.  Clean as a whistle!

 

I’d love to hear about one of your amazing cleaning tricks!  Please feel free to share!

 

 

About macfishreed

I'm a former country girl living in the suburbs with my four guys. I enjoy re-using, re-inventing and re-imagining just about anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clever or not- Here I come!

  1. overholt8 says:

    I have a cleaning fail I’ll share with you.
    I pinned on pinterest to fill one of those dish wands with a scrubby pad then you just use a little elbow grease after showering and clean on the way out. If I remember correctly it was to be filled half dawn dish soap and half vinegar (which cleans hardwood floors perfectly) I dutifully went and bought dawn dish soap and followed the directions. I scrubbed at the shower and it looked very clean. Later I was in the bathroom again and I noticed that the walls of the shower surround were dull upon closer inspection, I had scrubbed so hard I scrubbed off the factory shine. Now I no longer use the scrubby pad like it was recommended.

    Like

  2. macfishreed says:

    Wow! Now that’s some serious elbow grease! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

